top of page
RECENT POSTS

Nue Ground

Raw Food/Healthy Cafe

32 Abbeville Rd, SW4 9NG

££


Nue Ground opened in November 2019, giving it just 5 short months to make a name for itself before devastation hit the world, the hospitality industry especially. The first thing they got right was location: having grown up in 'Abbeville Village' myself I can safely say that it has now been taken over with an army of yummy mummies, awash with turmeric spiced oat milk lattes, sweaty Betty leggings, and toned stomachs. As well as these usual suspects, we have the younger generation of 20-something recruitment consultants, estate agents and insurance brokers. What do these groups of people have in common? A love for overpriced coffees, kale and sourdough bread (me too).

Coupled with the local Starbucks closing down and Gails being at the other end of the road, Nue Ground was able to thrive. A menu comprised of Maca and butterfly pea (?!!!) lattes, raw vegetable bowls, and samphire and edamame avocado toast, promises to provide you with at least 4 of your 5 a day in one sitting. I went one August evening, once lockdown had finally lifted, plonked myself on a table outside (the last one at 6pm - the place was popping) and steered away from the weird sounding chai, instead opting for a 'Abbeville Spritz' (£10) (a blackberry and lemongrass take on the traditional Aperol version... of course).

Having gone on a Monday, I was happy that it would be included in the Eat out to Help out scheme - meaning that there was up to £10 off the food bill, also meaning that my 'Goodness' bowl of tofu, avocado, radish, samphire and brown rice would be a mere £5. The bowl itself was tasty, coated in a sweet soy dressing which spiced things up a bit. The rice was a little TOO al-dente (and I like my stuff chewy), however, and the dish pretty chilled still, rather than a more pleasant room temperature. My co-diner also ordered a cocktail, as well as the cauliflower tacos with sweet potato fries which looked like a much more exciting option, but did come in at a little more price wise.

We finished with two matcha lattes, which I thought pretty steep at £4, but was even more shocked when it turned up in a thimble-sized mug, meaning that the lukewarm, disappointing drink was over in 3 sips, with a large amount of matcha powder left stagnant at the bottom of the cup. Our bill came, and even with the Eat out to Help out scheme, we were still coming in at £25 each, which, for what we had eaten and drunk, I thought horribly expensive. Nue Ground continues to be busy when I occasionally find myself passing by the area, even during lockdown when people queue to collect their £4 coffees or £4 loaves of sourdough bread (which to be fair are quite delicious). However, for a dining-out option, or a question of value, for me it falls flat.


OVERALL RATING: **


https://nueground.co.uk


Comments


SEARCH BY TAGS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page