top of page
RECENT POSTS

Pizzeria on the Green


Italian

4 Cavendish Rd, Clapham, London SW4 9DW

£

Pizzeria on the Green has been around ever since I can remember. I have been dining here, a mere 5 minute walk from my house, from the age of probably around 7, giving me 16 years of love for the place (although unfortunately I still haven't quite made the 'lovable local' status yet).

Located on Clapham Common South Side, a couple of doors down from notorious Sunday haunt 'Gigalum', and a stones-throw from Clapham South tube station, Pizzeria on the Green is a favourite amongst Claphamites for decently priced, honest, wholesome and delicious Italian food. It used to have a sign outside which claimed that the whole menu was half price, a sign which remained there for at least 5 years, before they decided that it was probably more effective to just re-print the menu with some slightly cheaper prices. Whilst many pizza joints now see you paying upwards of a tenner, here you're looking at Pizza prices of £6.90 for a Margherita, with prices up to £9.50 for a seafood special and similar Pasta prices of £7.00 - £9.20.

I must admit, the countless occasions I have eaten here, I have never ordered a pasta dish: purely because I find the pizza here so authentic and unlike anything I could replicate at home it seems a waste not to. However, friends have often gone for pasta and when they let me try these dishes are also bursting with garlicky, saucy, buttery goodness. My order has ranged over the years from a simple olives and onions as a fussy 7 year old, to a standard La reine, Vesuvio or Quattro stagione. I even once tried the Siciliana, which I didn't realise was a CHEESELESS pizza (the horror), so had to send it back to get topped with mozzarella (which they did look down on me for, but didn't charge me so who's the real winner here?!)

This is our classic cheap eat place: with a bottle of house wine coming in at just £16 and a half bottle £10.50. The only starter I've tried is the garlic bread which is a decent size and a mere £3, however, they have some great seafood starter options, such as mussels or garlic prawns, which always look and smell amazing when I see others order them. On Wednesday a friend and I ordered a cheesy garlic bread to start, followed by two Quattro Formaggi, (which is a new one for me and probably a result of my cheeseless trauma last visit), and half a bottle of house white. The bill came to a mere £35 and we left full and happy with a couple of slices in a doggie bag for the fridge.

The staff here are great, and have honestly been working there for donkeys years, everyone is 100% Italian (so will probably give you a look if you don't finish your meal, pay service or ask for cheese on a cheeseless pizza), but that's kind of the fun of it. The food here is consistently good, and the prices consistently reasonable. The place has a great outside area which is constantly full in summer, as well as a warm tiled interior with traditional artwork for the chillier months. A winner all year round in my opinion, and a local I hope I never lose.

OVERALL RATING: *****

http://pizzeriaonthegreen.co.uk/

SEARCH BY TAGS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page