top of page
RECENT POSTS

Cookhouse Joe


Lebanese 55 Berwick Street, W1F 8SP £ I remember seeing somewhere that Cookhouse Joe had “the best Rotisserie chicken in London”. Whilst annoyed that I can’t remember exactly where I saw this, it doesn’t matter as it definitely made an impression and as a result Cookhouse Joe was on my list of places to try for a long time.

Finally, this Thursday, I found the perfect opportunity. Exhibition hopping with ma best mate around the Oxford Circus area, we suddenly found ourselves rather peckish… “I know just the place” I said… and within a 5 minute walk we were there. As I’m sure even people on the other side of the world are aware, London has been having a magnificent heatwave this summer, so the outside table was a must. Luckily, there was one left when we arrived so we nabbed it instantly.

Upon arriving, we were greeted by a friendly young waitress who told us that once we were ready we must order at the counter inside. The lunch menu was marvellous – a few options of Rotisserie chicken with chips or salad, as well as three wrap options: falafel, lamb kofte and halloumi. Asta has recently gone to the dark side and turned into a vegetable so she ordered the falafel wrap for £6. Whilst I would have ordinarily been a sucker for the lamb kofte, I stuck to my guns and reminded myself why I was here. After a few too many chips with the footie the night before, I opted for half a chicken with a large mixed salad for £7… bargain if you ask me!

A very generous portion of chicken arrived in a metal tray with a large bowl of salad containing tomatoes, cucumber, pepper and leaves. The chicken, I must say, was incredibly juicy and tender: practically falling off the bone. The skin could have done with being a lot crispier, but I presume this is not the style of Rotisserie chicken, especially when you are wanting to keep it as moist as this! The salad was a good mix, but could have definitely done with some addition of onion. You are given the choice of three sauces: garlic, chilli and yoghurt – to which I obviously chose the garlic and Asta the chilli. The chilli sauce was good but the garlic was quite bitter and didn’t taste very garlicky at all. As for Asta’s falafel, she claims she’s had better and rated it a 7/10. Upon closer inspection it didn’t seem like there was much falafel in there and the wrap did appear quite dense and dry.

Overall, Cookhouse Joe is a casual and fun spot to grab a quick lunch for a reasonable price. However, if you are coming it is advised you do so purely for the Rotisserie chicken – which may not be the best in London, but it’s definitely one of the moistest you'll find.

OVERALL RATING: ****

http://www.cookhousejoe.com/

SEARCH BY TAGS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page