top of page
RECENT POSTS

Corsica Studios


Corsica Studios Field Day Afterparty – ‘Make Me’ 4/5 Elephant Rd, SE17 1LB Free for first 200, then £5-£15

After Field Day being a slight let down, I didn’t have massively high hopes for any of the after parties lined up. Having never been to Corsica I was willing to give it a go, even though I wasn’t a massive fan of its sister venue, The Colombian’, situated literally next door.

We arrived at Corsica at around 23:30 and were kind of worried that it would be rammed due to people coming straight from Field Day which ended at 10pm. Luckily, however, when we arrived there was no queue at all - so much so that we questioned whether or not it was even open. Upon entering we were told that the first 200 people who signed up to the event online could get free entry, I had done this a couple of nights before so doubted I’d be on there but turns out I was!

Thank God I signed up, because they tried to charge my mates £20 entrance each – despite stating clearly online it would only go up to £15. Ridiculous for any London club, but especially a pokey dive in the middle of Elephant and Castle. They managed to haggle it down to a tenner (who knew you could haggle entrance fees at clubs?!) which was a lot more reasonable, but still a bummer seeing as the majority of us got in for free.

Despite the rocky start, Corsica was actually a really good venue. Small, yes, but given the low numbers of people there (possibly 60 max) this worked really well, giving you space to dance and even nab a bench spot outside if you waited a short while. There were only two rooms open on the evening I went, both playing fairly similar upbeat techno, which I must admit was more enjoyable than any of the music I heard at Field Day.

The bar staff were friendly, the rooms had air con, there was space, the music was great and it was free. Kind of all the things you look for in a good night out to be honest. For these reasons I will almost definitely return to Corsica but just hope that I’m not proven entirely wrong at a busier event.

OVERALL RATING: ****

http://www.corsicastudios.com/

SEARCH BY TAGS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page