top of page
RECENT POSTS

Sussex and Modernism


Various Artists

Two Temple Place

28 JANUARY - 23 APRIL 2017

Free

I had never been to Two Temple Place, but had heard that it is an architectural gem and cultural hotspot, embodying a hidden history of London. After a chat with my neighbour, who volunteers at both Two Temple Place and Somerset House, I was intrigued to check the place out, considering how highly complimentary she was of it.

The venue itself was lovely, tucked away just further afield from Temple station, you are close to the river but off the main road and away from the chaos. Two big wooden doors with traditionally large knockers (cheeky) greet you, followed by some welcoming and informative staff who seem to be in complete adoration of the place - cooing endlessly about the different floors to explore and things you can't miss.

The exhibition itself, however, was awfully dry. Showing works of so call 'radical artists' who retreated to the Sussex countryside, the exhibition was supposed to be a representation of rebellion and experimentation. However, to me it seemed like very standard landscapes, followed by a few abstract nudes and a lot of biblical imagery. So yes, the female appears unconcerned about the male gaze, and yes, the male nudes appear demasculinized and effeminate, and yes, maybe an independant woman and camp male were rebellious in these days... I was just expecting more danger, to be honest.

The exhibition was largely filled with the elder generation, who maybe this would appeal to more, however I'm usually very against putting an age distinction on art as I think all art should be considered universal. This exhibition, however, did very little for me yet it seemed to mesmerise and inspire all those around me. The most enjoyable part of the exhibit was the venue itself - noteworthy for holding some of the last ebony pillars in London (very hard to source these days, apparently...) It is a beautiful building, belonging once to William Waldorf Astor, a man who I probably should know more about.

The stained glass windows (pictured above) were exquisite and I spent more time gazing at these then the works on display. Overall, I think that the venue would get top marks and is definitely worth a visit - they host annual winter exhibitions here so hopefully the next one won't leave me feeling so deflated.

OVERALL RATING: **

http://twotempleplace.org/exhibitions/2017-2/

SEARCH BY TAGS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page