top of page
RECENT POSTS

Wild Caper


Eastern Mediterranean 11A-13 Market Row, Brixton, London SW9 8LB

££

Housed within Brixton Village, an old arcade which hasn't changed much since the 70s, Wild Caper is one of the many cafes lining the market walkway. The interior is tiny, however, the place itself wasn't that busy on the Sunday afternoon we went and we managed to nab a seat outside, heaters and all.

The smoothies sounded amazing, I was hoping to get a kiwi apple and banana number. Although unfortunately, for a reason I didn't fully understand, they weren't making smoothies that day. Shucks. I opted for a freshly squeezed orange juice instead, which was nice - not too bitter, not too sweet. To eat, I went for the Veggie full English (I'd just been to the gym so was in health mode), which consisted of: two poached eggs, wilted spinach, cherry tomatoes, courgette and a portobello mushroom.

The breakfast was tasty, sure, the mushroom in particular. Although, they had overdone the poached eggs juuust a tad. I mean, I overdo my poached eggs most of the time, but when I'm paying £7.50 for someone else to do this for me it's not as easily forgiven. In it's defence, however, Wild Caper isn't ACTUALLY known for or prided on its brunches - more for its Mediterranean food.

I've had a quick ganders over the menu, a mix of lamb kofte, chicken skewers, falafel, halloumi, calamari and couscous - basically a bunch of stuff I love. I'm now very tempted to return here not in a breakfast setting but more for a meze lunch or dinner. The atmosphere around the market will also probably be a lot more lively in the evening also, as it was pretty quiet and, well, a bit bland when we went.

The staff at Wild Caper were friendly, and overall it was good food at OK prices. Wild caper sources all of its produce locally, keeping small businesses in Brixton in business going. Eat here for the same reasons - and feel ethically satisfied while you nom nom nom away.

OVERALL RATING: ***

http://www.wildcaper.co.uk/

SEARCH BY TAGS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page