top of page
RECENT POSTS

Treehugger


Developed By London-based studio Marshmallow Laser Feast

Southbank Centre: Green Display Space 2, Level 2

14 DECEMBER - 28 DECEMBER 2016

Free

"Treehugger the world’s first virtual reality experience that aims to shift our mindset from consumerism to conservation, through a huge replicated model of a giant sequoia tree and a Vive VR headset."

I was super excited when I saw this advertised in Time Out magazine. A virtual reality tree which claimed to make 'pinecones feel like the sydney opera house' and make grooves in the bark become 'giant cliffs'. Once we got to the Southbank Centre the queue didn't seem long at all, however we were waiting around an hour, if not more, due to the fact that there were only 4 spaces at a time and each viewing lasted 10 minutes or so.

When it was finally my turn to hug the tree I was slightly apprehensive at first, the description of the experience made it sound pretty intense and I wasn't sure how much I was going to like 'tree time'. I needn't have worried; tree time was far more relaxed than I was expecting. Kitted out with a headset, VR glasses, a motion rucksack and motion sensors for your wrists one is told to feel, look and experience a big black felt like structure with gaping holes in. Once in the virtual tree world, these gaping holes take you inside the tree, the more you move around the more intense visuals and sensory effects you receive. Unfortunately, my rucksack had not been tightened from the person before me, meaning I did not get the full effect of being lifted up the tree - a personal favourite moment of Tom's whom I was with.

The actual structure of the 'tree' (the big black felt thing) did feel cool... however there weren't any sydney opera house moments or giant cliffs. One felt a tad wobbly when walking around but the visuals weren't as detailed or realistic as I was expecting. Overall, a very fun and different experience but I don't think it should have been advertised in the way it was (claiming to completely transport one to an ulterior universe). If I didn't read this prior to visiting Treehugger then my expectations would not have been so high, resulting in a more positive result overall. But props to these guys for bringing the VR experience to the general public - for free!

OVERALL RATING: ****

https://www.southbankcentre.co.uk/whats-on/117900-treehugger-2016

SEARCH BY TAGS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page